Tags

, , , ,

big blueberries and mint

This has to be one of the most surprising salads that I have ever made.  I adapted it from a recipe I read in the Wall Street Journal and it was fantastic in its unexpected combination of coolness from the mint, acidity from the vinegar, and sweetness of the berries. Usually I hate fruit in my salad and the amount of mint seemed excessive, but it totally worked and has become one of my favorite salads to make.

Rule #10 about being a mindful person: Save yourself time and energy by not being afraid to adopt something that already works and make it your own.

Serve this in a big bowl for a rustic look or plate on small white plates for a contemporary look.

Toss together:

1 head of chopped romaine lettuce

2 cups of blueberries

2 cups of chopped fresh mint

3 thinly sliced scallions

2 cups chopped and peeled cucumbers

Dressing:

¼ cup balsamic vinegar

1 tablespoon honey

1 tablespoon olive oil

Salt and Pepper

Mix all the dressing ingredients together until blended and toss with the salad.

